As is often the way with recipes, in our house anyway, one thing gets substituted for another, & before you know it you have quite a different beastie. I usually make bulk minestrone & freeze some. This recipe morphed because I had no Red Kidney beans, no small pasta & only tinned moroccan tomatoes, I think it’s even better than the original recipe.  I think it could be good with some chicken added too.

dscf0544

Start with a large slosh of olive oil,

Fry 2 onions, finely chopped, several cloves of garlic & about a cup of bacon pieces or 2 or 3 rashers of bacon chopped up,

Grind up about 1 tsp of cumin seeds & toss in.

When cooked stir in 2 or 3 chopped carrots, several sticks of celery (I used some Lovage stalks & parsley),

4 potatoes, cook for a bit,

Then add 2 tins of chickpeas,

2 tins of moroccan toms or plain toms,

About 6 cups of stock & or water,

A few Bay leaves & some chopped oregano or thyme, salt & pepper.

I added about 1 cup of giant lebanese couscous,

& half a finely chopped cabbage.

Put the lid on & cook for half an hour or so until everything is tender. This makes about 10-12 servings & freezes well. Serve with fresh coriander leaves.

